Sign in to follow this  
Taylor

Three Colour Minimum - discussion

Hey Guys- I read a great article today on BoW and wanted to link it. 

http://www.beastsofwar.com/painting-and-hobby/threecolours-minimum/

It's basically about the three colour minimum scheme that once determined if you could attend a GW tournament. Over the years, I've had a lot of conversations about using 3rd party miniatures in tournaments, and how a good selection of the gaming audience supports that, but what about painting? I mean, if someone brings a fully painted 3rd party models with proper representation be better than a grey (or pewter) legion? 

Just looking to stir up some conversation. I'd suggest reading the article first. 

I think it was this line that caught my attention. 

This has caused much contention in my own local scene, with players claiming that I am elitist and that I only want this because I am a painter, the word painter being spat at me like ugly venom that had encroached their palette.

It really depends on what you gain from the hobby. For me personally I love having nicely painted models but not having them won't stop me from playing. I love the game first and the hobby second. I wish I had the time/patience to paint more but honestly, it doesn't even register on my radar.

Now with that said, painted models definitely help make the game more enjoyable (not to mention easier to discern models from each other -- a sea of grey is always a game of asking what this is and that is).